Z Mei Skin Care Review

About two months after having Baby Bird, my skin began to dry up. It didn’t matter how much water I drank and how much lotion I put on, nothing was sinking in and I wasn’t absorbing any moisture. I’m sure it didn’t help that all of the products I was trying had some type of unnatural ingredients in them.

I started using a thick night cream as my regular day cream and I remember thinking to myself that I should just go and grab all of the natural herbs, minerals and oils off the store shelf I could find and make something that didn’t have any chemicals in it to try to get the moisture back.

Then I was contacted about Z Mei Skin Care, a line of hair and skin care products that “combines the best of modern technology with more than 2,000 years of Oriental natural healing.”

I was becoming desperate and was ready to try anything. These are usually the moments that I make bad decisions, but not in this case. This was one of the best decisions I’ve made all year.

Z Mei is the creation of Dr. Janet Zand, who has more than 20 years of experience in herbal and nutritional healthcare. I have a lot of things to cover in my review so I am going to refer you to the company website to learn more about Dr. Janet Zand on your own, it is worth the read.

As you know, I am making a huge effort to go more eco-friendly, safe, chemical-free, sustainable and natural. I am slowly replacing chemical-based, harsh products with better options as I find them. While researching the company, I found that their whole hair/skin care line is all-natural, made using botanical ingredients and includes a liposomic complex developed by Dr. Zand that is naturally rich in vitamins, minerals and ancient Oriental herbs which penetrates the skin to deliver treatment at the cellular level. They are also pH-balanced, hypo-allergenic, and completely biodegradable. They contain no soaps, synthetic emulsifiers,
artificial colors, or any harsh or irritating chemicals that can be
harmful to the skin.

Don’t take my word for it, you can read their list of ingredients that go into each product. This long list of wonderful herbs, vitamins and minerals alone impressed me and I was excited to try out the Z Mei Skin Care system.

photo copyrights to Z MeiI received the 6 Piece Complete Skin Beauty System, which includes the Purifying Facial Cleanser, Balancing Toner, Replenishing Daily Moisturizer, Regenerating Night Treatment, Correcting Eye Serum and the Exfoliating Scrub. This set online retails for $99.95 and when you break that down it is less than $17 for each product. Not bad for something that is all-natural.

So, I know you are wondering, how does it work? To start, the products all smell great, and since there are no added fragrances, it is all-natural.

When I first smelled the Purifying Facial Cleanser, I thought it smelled like a yummy cocktail. It foams up and cleans without leaving a residue behind. I’ve also found that I don’t have to rush to put cream on as my skin doesn’t dry out after washing.

All of the products have been gentle on my skin and my face is no longer dry. The Replenishing Daily Moisturizer and Regenerating Night Treatment  work better than any day or night creams I have ever tried before and I can go all day without feeling like I want to put more lotion on my face.

The Exfoliating Scrub can be used as either a scrub or a mask and I’ve used it as both and am very happy with it. Like the other products, it smells great and doesn’t leave a ‘dry’ feeling behind.

The Balancing Toner is refreshing and the Correcting Eye Serum goes on smooth and softens the dead skin around my eyes (which were hit the hardest when my skin dried out).

My whole review is positive. Z Mei does what it says it does. It has left my skin feeling healthier than it did even before I was pregnant. You can use the products together as part of a skin care routine, or just use what you need. You can purchase the skin care system I reviewed either individually (with prices ranging from $27.95 – $59.95), or as a whole (all 6 items for $99.95). Buying them together will save you a LOT of money.

Also, for the month of July, they have a reorder special where you can buy any 6 of their items for $99.95. So for example, if you already have a favorite facial cleanser and toner, you can replace them with something else. In my case, if I was to buy the 6 items I want from them individually, it would cost me $271.15, but for the month of July, I can get them all for $99.95. That’s pretty frugal.

photo copyrights to Z MeiIf you are not happy with your current skin care products, or if you are struggling with any problematic skin conditions, I suggest taking a look at their website. I am a strong believer that natural is the way to go, we just have to find natural products that work, and these work for me.

Z Mei has offered to give one This Bird’s Day reader the same 6 Piece Complete Skin Beauty System that I received as a giveaway. (ARV $99.95)

To enter:
Go to Z Mei and have a look at the products they offer, then come back here and leave a comment telling me which one product you could use the most. Include a way of getting a hold of you if you win. *You must do this for any additional entries to count.

After you have completed the first entry, you can enter an additional comment one time for each of the following:

This contest is open to Canada and the US and runs until 12pm MST on Wednesday, August 04, 2010.

* I received the above noted product for free to complete my review. The opinions expressed in this post are mine only and are in no way influenced by any outside factors.

Sheri Landry

Sheri publishes, and writes at This Bird’s Day where she shares all of the thoughts in her head without the voices. Sticking mainly with content for Canadians, Sheri shares family stories, product information and anything that fits into her (and her family’s) daily activities.

Found in Style & Beauty

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • JRG Aug 4, 2010, 5:38 am

    I completed the poll and noted eye serum was also selected by most the others, too.

  • JRG Aug 4, 2010, 5:37 am

    I like the eye serum

  • colleen t. Aug 3, 2010, 5:21 pm

    I could really use the intensive hand repair therapy lotion!
    cthompson1477@gmail dot com

  • Lensey Nemec Aug 2, 2010, 3:33 pm

    filled out the poll

  • Belinda M Aug 1, 2010, 10:40 am

    Filled out the poll

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Belinda m Aug 1, 2010, 10:38 am

    I could really use the Replenishing Daily Moisturizer

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • j. Aug 1, 2010, 6:51 am

    I’d like to try the Replenishing Daily Moisturizer.

  • kelly wakefield Aug 1, 2010, 6:11 am

    I could use the Purifying Facial Cleanser the most

    chlorinebrain at sbcglobal dot net

  • ashley Jul 31, 2010, 10:34 pm

    id like the correcting eye serum

  • Deborah Jul 30, 2010, 4:12 pm

    I would pick the Replenishing Daily Moisturizer! Believe me I need it..

    dovescry_@hotmail.com

  • suzquiz Jul 30, 2010, 4:01 pm

    like you on FB
    suzquiz E

  • suzquiz Jul 30, 2010, 4:00 pm

    requested friend status

  • suzquiz Jul 30, 2010, 3:59 pm

    I completed poll

  • suzquiz Jul 30, 2010, 3:56 pm

    I would like to try the correcting eye serum

  • Snugnluv Jul 29, 2010, 7:30 pm

    I’m in desperate need of the Eye Serum.

  • Snugnluv Jul 29, 2010, 7:28 pm

    I filled out the poll. First six all the way!

  • Nadia Clouatre Jul 27, 2010, 10:54 pm

    I would really like to try the eye serum!!

  • Nancy Jul 26, 2010, 3:58 pm

    I filled in the poll

  • Carla Jul 26, 2010, 10:36 am

    i would use the Correcting Eye Serum the most.

  • Alex H. (lexigurl) Jul 25, 2010, 5:05 am

    I took the poll

  • Alex H. (lexigurl) Jul 25, 2010, 5:04 am

    I would love to get the balancing toner!

  • corey Jul 24, 2010, 12:53 am

    I’d try the Nourishing and Revitilizing Shampoo and the hair Repair and strengthening Conditioner.

  • andalene Jul 24, 2010, 12:51 am

    I’d like to try the Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands – mine could surely use this.

  • Janny Jul 23, 2010, 11:00 pm

    jannified@hotmail.com

    I’d like the exfoliating scrub.

  • Linda Lansford Jul 23, 2010, 5:57 pm

    I want the shampoo

  • Deborah Jul 23, 2010, 5:26 pm

    I would love to use the Replenishing Daily Moisturizer.

  • 409cope Jul 23, 2010, 12:27 pm

    I filled in the poll.

  • 409cope Jul 23, 2010, 12:25 pm

    I would use the Replenishing Daily Moisturizer the most.

  • Ria Clarke Jul 23, 2010, 11:31 am

    I like TBD on FB as ria suzette martin clarke
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  • Ria Clarke Jul 23, 2010, 11:27 am

    I completeed the poll
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  • Ria Clarke Jul 23, 2010, 11:26 am

    I would love the Regenerating Night Treatment
    rmartinclarke at gmail dot com

  • Burcu Jul 23, 2010, 3:11 am

    I would use Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands the most

  • Shelley Jul 22, 2010, 9:09 pm

    I would love to try the Regenerating Night Treatment!

  • lauren Jul 22, 2010, 7:15 pm

    i would most likely use the intense repair lotion for hands the most because after i was my hands they get really dry.

  • Mellissa C Jul 22, 2010, 1:04 pm

    I would like the Regenerating Night Treatment.

  • Denise B. Jul 22, 2010, 12:41 pm

    I would use the correcting eye serum the most.

  • Melanie Jul 22, 2010, 11:55 am

    filled in the poll

  • Melanie Jul 22, 2010, 11:52 am

    Replenishing Daily Moisturizer – if it’s something you’re going to wear every day, it should be all-natural

  • Grace Jul 22, 2010, 11:15 am

    I would love the hand repair. Mine really need it.

  • Marlene V. Jul 22, 2010, 10:14 am

    I filled in the poll:)

  • Marlene V. Jul 22, 2010, 10:12 am

    I would really love to try the Correcting Eye Serum — unfortunately I am getting some wrinkles around my eyes. Thanks for the chance to win:)

  • brandlyn Jul 22, 2010, 8:38 am

    I would love to try the Intensive Repair Therapy for hands. My hands get so dry and brittle during the summer months. I have always wanted smooth hands.

  • judy folk Jul 22, 2010, 7:12 am

    i am told you need to moisturize, moisturize, moisturize so my pick would be Replenishing Daily Moisturizer

  • Jean F Jul 22, 2010, 6:43 am

    I would use the Regenerating Night Treatment , the most

  • DonnaS Jul 22, 2010, 6:41 am

    I filled in the poll.
    dls (dot) 1957 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  • DonnaS Jul 22, 2010, 6:39 am

    I would definitely use the Regenerating Night Treatment.
    dls (dot) 1957 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  • jess Jul 22, 2010, 1:18 am

    filled in poll

  • jess Jul 22, 2010, 1:17 am

    would definitely get eye serum

    jessicatang90@hotmail.com

  • tracy davis Jul 21, 2010, 10:13 pm

    I would use some Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands

  • Amber G Jul 21, 2010, 10:08 pm

    I filled out your poll!

  • Amber G Jul 21, 2010, 10:07 pm

    I could really use the purifying facial cleanser

  • Sherry Jul 21, 2010, 9:53 pm

    I filled out the poll!

  • Debbie W Jul 21, 2010, 9:05 pm

    I took the poll and the six I chose are:
    Balancing Toner
    Replenishing Daily Moisturizer
    Nourishing & Revitalizing Shampoo
    Hair Repair & Strengthening Conditioner
    Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands
    Correcting Eye Serum

    mommakoala(at)cogeco(dot)ca

  • Debbie W Jul 21, 2010, 9:02 pm

    I think I would use the Balancing toner the most. It would be an essential part of my daily routine.
    You can get a hold of me in the email I provided in the ballot.

  • Christine Jul 21, 2010, 8:30 pm

    would use some Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands

  • Denise S Jul 21, 2010, 8:02 pm

    I took the poll.

  • Denise S Jul 21, 2010, 7:59 pm

    I’d like to try the Hair Repair & Strengthening Conditioner.

  • Monique Rizzo Jul 21, 2010, 5:40 pm

    The intestive repair therapy for hands would be nice.Thanks for the chance.
    mogrill@comcast.net

  • Elaine R Jul 21, 2010, 5:14 pm

    Also took the poll.

  • Egle Jul 21, 2010, 5:11 pm

    I would use some Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands

  • Elaine R Jul 21, 2010, 5:11 pm

    The Exfoliating Scrub would be awesome to try.

  • brandy nelson Jul 21, 2010, 4:55 pm

    I filled out the poll

  • brandy nelson Jul 21, 2010, 4:54 pm

    I like the Correcting Eye Serum the best. (And I need it badly!)

  • EMMA L HORTON Jul 21, 2010, 4:41 pm

    Replenishing Daily Moisturizer WOULD BE MY CHOICE

  • carolp8 Jul 21, 2010, 12:35 pm

    I completed the poll.
    carolrector(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • carolp8 Jul 21, 2010, 12:28 pm

    I have a lot of problems with my hands in the winter so the Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands would be very helpful!
    carolrector(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Anne Taylor Jul 21, 2010, 11:38 am

    Like you on Fb

    Anne Taylor or annectaylor1

    ty

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • Anne Taylor Jul 21, 2010, 11:37 am

    Added you as a FB Friend

    Anne Taylor or annectaylor1

    ty

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • Anne Taylor Jul 21, 2010, 11:32 am

    Filled out the poll

    ty

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • Anne Taylor Jul 21, 2010, 11:30 am

    My old, tired hands would love the Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands

    ty

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • Constance L Jul 21, 2010, 10:40 am

    I would use the Regenerating Night Treatment the most.

    constancelavery at msn dot com

  • Linda Fish Jul 21, 2010, 9:47 am

    I filled out the poll

  • Linda Fish Jul 21, 2010, 9:46 am

    I would like the Correcting Eye Serum

  • sara Jul 21, 2010, 8:32 am

    I filled out the poll.

  • sara Jul 21, 2010, 8:31 am

    I could really use the correcting eye serum!

  • Sunshyn Vanderheiden Jul 21, 2010, 12:41 am

    I filled in your poll

  • Sunshyn Vanderheiden Jul 21, 2010, 12:35 am

    I could use their Balancing Toner the most

  • Stephanie V. Jul 20, 2010, 8:37 pm

    Regenerating Night Treatment looks fantastic
    tvollowitz at aol dot com

  • Glogirl Jul 20, 2010, 7:39 pm

    I completed the poll.

  • Glogirl Jul 20, 2010, 7:37 pm

    I would enjoy using the Exfoliating Scrub because it could be used as a scrub and mask. I love using scrubs and masks to deep clean my skin.

  • lorna Jul 20, 2010, 5:54 pm

    I would go with the balancing toner as my skin is very uneven

  • Margaret Smith Jul 20, 2010, 5:51 pm

    I filled out the poll
    Thanks again
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • Margaret Smith Jul 20, 2010, 5:47 pm

    I could really use the Intensive Repair Therapy for Hands.
    Thanks so much.
    rickpeggysmith(at)aol(dot)com

  • itsmewhoelse Jul 20, 2010, 5:12 pm

    I would pick the Retoning Hand & Body Moisture Therapy! I’m in the garden all summer and my hands would thank me.
    itsmewhoelse at live dot ca

  • SANDY Jul 20, 2010, 4:56 pm

    THE EYE SERUM LOOKS GOOD