Skin MD Natural Shielding Lotion Review & Giveaway (Closed)

These cold, dry Canadian winters sure take it’s toll on my hands, and this year it was worse than ever before. Since having Baby Bird I have noticed my skin get drier and my eczema, that I once had as a child, has come back. Even Papa Bird and Baby Bird have had a rough, dry winter.

Skin MD LogoI get my eczema on my hands mostly now, and it hurts when it gets bad. My hands were extremely happy to hear that I was going to be reviewing a Shielding Lotion by Skin MD Natural.

Skin MD Shielding LotionSkin MD Natural uses all-natural ingredients and is free from fragrance and artificial colouring, it is also hypoallergenic. This is great for those of us that have dry skin, especially when it is compounded with additional skin problems like eczema, psoriasis, etc.

I like this Shielding Lotion for my every day use. It comes with me to my work place every day. I work in administration, so I deal with paper, paper, paper — and nothing sucks the moisture out of your hands faster than handling lots of paper.

My favorite feature is that it is not an oily lotion. It goes on light and disappears with no oily aftermath which is great when you are handling documents that you don’t want to get dirty. I can put it on, then get right back to work without feeling like I need a towel to wipe it off.

You can order this Shielding Lotion or others in their line right from the Skin MD website and this 120ml (4oz) bottle sells for $18.

Hand creams can be bought in store for less, but an all-natural hand cream like this is well worth the extra money. Make sure you review their list of ingredients and describe how each one is included to help repair and replenish dry skin.

Skin MD Natural has offered to give one of my readers a bottle of Shielding Lotion of their own as a giveaway…

To enter:
Visit Skin MD Natural and take a look at their list of ingredients, then come back here and leave a comment at the end of this post telling me how this lotion can help you. Please include a way of getting a hold of you if you win. *You must do this for any additional entries to count.

After you have completed the first entry, you can enter an additional comment one time for each of the following:

  • Follow This Bird’s Day on Twitter and tweet about this giveaway. Please include your twitter id in your comment.
  • Become a follower of This Bird’s Day (in the right sidebar).
  • Subscribe to This Bird’s Day (at the bottom of the page).

This contest is open to Canada and the US and runs until 12pm MST on Sunday, February 28, 2010.

* I received a copy of this book for free to complete my review. The opinions expressed in this post are mine only and are in no way influeanced by any outside factors.

Sheri Landry

Sheri publishes, and writes at This Bird’s Day where she shares all of the thoughts in her head without the voices. Sticking mainly with content for Canadians, Sheri shares family stories, product information and anything that fits into her (and her family’s) daily activities.

17 comments… add one
  • Sheri Mar 1, 2010, 8:56 am

    Comments are now closed for this giveaway. I will be drawing a winner shortly. Thank you to everyone who entered and good luck.

  • cherdon Feb 28, 2010, 8:14 pm

    Shielding lotions are light and go on without a greasy mess which I much prefer as I cant stand that greasy feeling. I have very dry skin and could really use this.

    cherdon@sympatico.ca

  • Anonymous Feb 24, 2010, 8:49 pm

    I have psoriasis on my hands so this cream would be great.
    Contact me at littledeer75@hotmail.com

  • Anonymous Feb 21, 2010, 7:24 pm

    as a person who has their hands in and out of water all the time and gets very dry and chapped, I would love to try this product!

    Sherry

    twinviews@hotmail.com

  • 409cope Feb 21, 2010, 4:24 pm

    I think SkinMD could help relieve the eczema on my elbows. cardshark42(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Debbie Feb 20, 2010, 4:52 pm

    GFC (Koala)

    mommakoala(at)cogeco(dot)ca

  • Debbie Feb 20, 2010, 4:37 pm

    Because of me being a nurse, my hands are being washed every 5 minutes, if not more often. Inbetween soap and water washing, I use hand sanitizer. You could say my hands are sensitive an a mess.

    Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract is perfect because of the soothing, analgesic, and healing aspects.

    mommakoala(at)cogeco(dot)ca

  • Anonymous Feb 20, 2010, 3:14 pm

    I like that it has 'Shielding lotion- is a lotion that forms a protective barrier on the skin and keeps out irritants and chemicals. It also allows the natural oils and moisture to remain in the skin so it can heal better.' My step-daughter really could use this!!

    charity-23(at)hotmail.com

  • Glogirl Feb 20, 2010, 2:15 pm

    This lotion would help my skin as it contains Aloe Vera which improves the skin's ability to hydrate itself and aids in the removal of dead skin cells. This would hopefully leave my hands soft, supple and hydrated.

    ajmizen(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • suzie Feb 20, 2010, 12:36 pm

    I have super dry skin in the winter & hope this would help

  • Elonda Feb 20, 2010, 12:02 pm

    I love alot of the ingredients but exspecially
    Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract (Aloe Vera) as everyone knows this is so good for skin abrasions and severly dry skin. I would love to win this to try as I also suffer from excema as does my daughter and we could both try it at home before ordering some. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Elonda
    elonda@sympatico.ca

  • Annie1 Feb 20, 2010, 10:33 am

    Dimethicones are non-toxic, hypoallergenic unmodified silicones, which form a protective layer on the skin that helps retain natural moisture thus preventing transdermal water loss. This layer must be renewed as the skin sloughs off.

    I have both exema and psoriasis so this sounds wonderful!

    ty

    nancyrobster@gmail.com

  • silverneon2000 Feb 20, 2010, 10:25 am

    For one i like how they break down all the ingredients and tell you what it means as mos t times you look at ingredients and have no idea what is in a product.
    Anyways i see that it has Aloe in it which has been known to grea for healing skin for along time. I think it would be great for my dry hands.

    Thank you

    silverneon2000 at yahoo dot com

  • Lesley Feb 20, 2010, 9:45 am

    This lotion looks like an awesome product. I too have noticed that as I am getting older that I cannot find a good hydrating product and with aloe vera and vitamin E also, this looks fabulous. It would help my hands and especially feet stop being sooooo dry!

    Lesley
    notsomch@gmail.com

  • Liz W Feb 20, 2010, 7:31 am

    "Shielding lotion is a lotion that forms a protective barrier on the skin and keeps out irritants and chemicals. It also allows the natural oils and moisture to remain in the skin so it can heal better. It is a big advantage that shielding lotions are light and go on without a greasy mess,"

    Good stuff to have it seems! Would be excellent to try for me and or my nephew

    vvevilvkittenvv@live.ca

  • Tricia H Feb 19, 2010, 8:41 pm

    would be great for at work where i wash my hands constantly!

    carhout@yahoo.com

  • psl Feb 19, 2010, 7:03 pm

    I like they way the ingredients of:Dimethicones are non-toxic, hypoallergenic unmodified silicones, which form a protective layer on the skin that helps retain natural moisture thus preventing transdermal water loss,that really helps

    ppsl.wong@gmail.com

Leave a Comment