iQ Cleaners by Planet People – Review & Giveaway (Closed)

I posted a few months ago about Gloves Off and Concrobium. A wonderful new cleaning line from Planet People (a Canadian Company). If you remember that post, then you remember that Planet People are committed to providing cleaning products that are environmentally friendly and safe to use. In short, their products have wonderful cleaning power without all of the harsh chemicals.

I remember while I was reviewing those products that I wondered (possibly out loud on my post) why other companies couldn’t do that as well.

Well, Planet People have taken their great product and produced a new line that is not only chemical-free (it is made made from plants and other natural sources), but it also has a wonderful smell. And the best part of all? It is compact and it reuses the same bottle.

What does this mean for you? In a nutshell, less shipping means less cost to you and recycling used bottles is good for the environment.

I was sent each of the cleaners in the new iQ line and refills to try out. The cleaners available in this line are the All-Purpose Cleaner (Green Tea Scent), Bathroom Cleaner (Nectarine Plum), Glass Cleaner (Bamboo Berry), and the Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner (Papaya Mango).

All of the cleaners work just as well as the chemical-ridden cleaners that I used to use. The glass cleaner doesn’t streak, the floor cleaner gets the dirt out of our linoleum with ease, I use the bathroom cleaner on the whole bathroom and the all-purpose cleaner is always on hand in the kitchen.

And the smell of all of them is wonderful. Gone are the days of strong chemical smells loaded with perfumes to make it semi-resemble something fruity. These cleaners all have a light, fresh scent to them that won’t burn your nose hairs.

My favorite part of the cleaners is putting a new bottle together. When you are done with your bottle, you keep it. To get your brand new bottle all you do is fill your bottle with water to the fill line, grab an insert for the product you want, slip it in the top, put your spray attachment back on and tighten it. You will hear a small click and the new cleaner will be released and will fill your bottle. Give your bottle a light shake and you have a new bottle of cleaner.

I had so much fun putting my first bottle together, I took pictures of the second and video too. Check me out…

When your bottle is empty, you just choose your matching refill.
Fill your bottle with water…
…up to the fill line on the bottle…
…and drop your refill in.
Nothing will come out of your refill…
…until you tighten the spray nozzle…
…and you are ready to clean some more.

And here for your viewing enjoyment is the bottle in action. No laughing, I know the camera wasn’t steady.

The cleaner, is not messy at all. As you can see in the above pictures, the insert doesn’t even open until you tighten the spray nozzle on to the bottle.

So, imagine that for a moment. All of those cleaners on the market today. Mostly made of water. How much is being spent on shipping those bottles to us. Thanks to Planet People, we no longer have to pay to ship the water part of the cleaner, and after the first bottle, we don’t even have to pay them to ship us the bottle.

And, think about this — those bottles are no longer discarded after their first and only use. I say discarded because we do unfortunately still live in a world where either not everyone recycles, or the option to recycle is not available to everyone so some of those just end up in landfills after such a short life.

As of posting this, iQ is available at select retailers across Canada and a couple of American retailers. Most of the retailers are out west right now but you can join their mailing list to be notified when new stores start carrying them. If your province isn’t on the list make sure you stop by your local natural, eco-friendly store and tell them about Planet People, maybe they’ll carry them shortly. More stores towards the Eastern side of Canada should be carrying them later this year.

Or you can win it here…

Planet People has offered to give one This Bird’s Day reader one Planet People prize pack (ARV $55) as a giveaway. This includes:

  • 1 iQ starter kit
  • 1 iQ bottle full with cartridge
  • 1 Concrobium Mold Control
  • 1 Gloves Off Disinfectant
  • 1 Gloves Off Stain Remover
  • 1 Gloves Off CLR

To enter:
Go to the iQ website and have a look at their four new cleaners, then come back here and leave a comment telling me which one you would like to try the most. Include a way of getting a hold of you if you win. *You must do this for any additional entries to count.

After you have completed the first entry, you can enter an additional comment one time for each of the following:

This contest is open to residents of Canada only and runs until 12pm MST on Monday, September 13, 2010.

* I received all iQ cleaners plus refills for free to complete my review. The opinions expressed in this post are mine only and are in no way influenced by any outside factors.

Sheri Landry
Sheri publishes, and writes at This Bird’s Day where she shares all of the thoughts in her head without the voices. Sticking mainly with content for Canadians, Sheri shares family stories, product information and anything that fits into her (and her family’s) daily activities.
Found in House & Home

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Amy Sep 13, 2010, 9:32 pm

    I would love to try the Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner, because I would love for my house to smell like Papayas and Mangos!
    amytulk2 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  • Sheri Landry Sheri Sep 13, 2010, 9:30 pm

    Comments for this giveaway are now closed. Thank you to everyone who entered and good luck. I will draw a winner shortly and post their name on the winner’s page.

  • edmontonjb Sep 13, 2010, 9:37 am

    I would like to try the bathroom cleaner because living with three males means I have to clean the bathroom alot!

  • Anne Weir Sep 13, 2010, 7:56 am

    I love green tea!

  • Kimberly Drodge Sep 11, 2010, 3:50 pm

    I’d like to try to Multipurpose Cleaner.

  • Anne Weir Sep 11, 2010, 3:38 pm

    I want to try the glass cleaner

  • Anne Weir Sep 10, 2010, 10:42 am

    LOVE TO SEE THIS PRODUCT

  • KElly Sep 10, 2010, 9:50 am

    For sure it would be the glass cleaner I’d want to try

  • Fariah Sep 9, 2010, 4:42 pm

    I’d like to try the Papaya Mango floor cleaner. Actually, I would like to try them all :)

  • Anne Weir Sep 9, 2010, 4:50 am

    GREAT TO TRY THIS PRODUCTS

  • Joanna C Sep 9, 2010, 12:28 am

    I’d love to try the iQ All-Purpose Cleaner. My house needs a major cleaning!

  • Lisa Sep 8, 2010, 10:32 am

    I’d like to try the Glass Cleaner – big front room window plus 3 kids means it’s always mucky.

  • Anne Weir Sep 8, 2010, 7:30 am

    BE GREAT TO TRY THIS PRODUCT

  • tina lagrotteria Sep 7, 2010, 6:56 pm

    My favorite is the Glass Cleaner, and that is the one I would like to try out.

  • Anne Weir Sep 7, 2010, 6:12 am

    WOULD LOVE TO TRY ALL THESE PRODUCTS

  • corey Sep 6, 2010, 11:21 pm

    I like the glass cleaner – I’d really like to try this one the most.

  • andalene Sep 6, 2010, 11:20 pm

    I’d like to try the multi purpose Floor cleaner – we have a lot going on here and could rightfully use this.

  • supersu Sep 6, 2010, 5:24 pm

    i want to try:
    Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner (Papaya Mango). it sounds good enuf to eat!
    thanks for the opportunity

  • Anne Weir Sep 6, 2010, 9:39 am

    WOULD BE GREAT

  • J. Sep 5, 2010, 3:52 pm

    I’d like to try the glass cleaner.

  • Shairbearg Sep 5, 2010, 6:51 am

    I would like to try the glass cleaner the most.
    theknitwitbyshair@hotmail.com

  • J.Jo Sep 4, 2010, 6:07 pm

    Great review!

    I want to try the glass cleaner.. hmmmm bamboo berry sounds like it would smell really good too

  • Louise M. Sep 2, 2010, 9:27 pm

    Would love the nectarine plum cleaner

  • Jennifer McLachlan Sep 2, 2010, 1:13 pm

    i would most like to try the multi-purpose floor cleaner – i am really looking for a good natural cleaner that not only smells good, but actually cleans – it’s super hard to find!

  • Donnas Sep 1, 2010, 7:24 am

    I’d like to try the nectarine plum bathroom cleaner.

  • Anne Weir Sep 1, 2010, 6:02 am

    WOULD BE GREAT TO TRY THIS PRODUCTS

  • Marlene V. Aug 31, 2010, 10:04 pm

    I would love to try the glass cleaner — thanks for the chance to win

  • Carla Aug 31, 2010, 6:21 pm

    I like the Papaya Mango bathroom cleaner

  • Blueberry101 Aug 31, 2010, 4:17 pm

    I am most excited to try the Nectarine Plum bathroom cleaner.

  • Nancy Aug 31, 2010, 4:03 pm

    I would most like to try the IQ Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner.

  • Grace Aug 31, 2010, 10:14 am

    Love to try the nectarine plum bathroom cleaner.

  • Aliya D. Aug 31, 2010, 8:59 am

    It sounds fantastic! I would really like to give the IQ All-Purpose Cleaner a try… Thanks!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

  • Donnas Aug 31, 2010, 7:46 am

    I’d like to try the Green Tea All-Purpose Cleaner. It’s the one I use the most at home.

  • Pamela Aug 31, 2010, 5:17 am

    I would like to try the IQ bathroom cleaner the most…with all the boys in the family the bathroom needs the most cleaning.

  • Leanne M Aug 30, 2010, 11:20 pm

    I like the Bamboo berry window cleaner

  • itsmewhoelse Aug 30, 2010, 6:32 pm

    I would really like the multi surface floor cleaner! Mmm Papaya and Mango.

  • Kirsten Aug 30, 2010, 8:27 am

    I’d love to try the bamboo berry glass cleaner. I hate windex, you can smell the chemicals in it.
    kirsten.jason.2010 at gmail dot com

  • Jayne Cameron Aug 30, 2010, 8:07 am

    I would Love to try the cleaner with the mango…

  • Sherry P. Aug 29, 2010, 9:48 pm

    I would really like to try the Mold Control spray. I have a little problem corner…

  • sean pynaert Aug 29, 2010, 6:35 pm

    i would like to try the nectarine plum bathroom cleaner

  • 409cope Aug 29, 2010, 4:44 pm

    I am most anxious to try the IQ Glass Cleaner.cardshark42(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Christina M Aug 29, 2010, 4:18 pm

    I’d like to try the Bamboo Berry glass cleaner. I’m sure it would smell great!

  • Lisa Kirkman Aug 29, 2010, 3:22 pm

    I would like to try the Gloves Off Disinfectant because I have kids and they’re always infecting things. ;-p

  • thesehappydays Aug 29, 2010, 12:32 am

    I would most like to try the IQ Glass Cleaner
    denimc{at}gmail{dot}com

  • Glogirl Aug 28, 2010, 8:14 pm

    I would love to try the iQ Bathroom Cleaner.

  • Anne Taylor Aug 28, 2010, 7:57 pm

    fb friend

    Anne Taylor or annectaylor1

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • Debbie W Aug 28, 2010, 7:35 pm

    I would like to try the all purpose cleaner (just alone for that reason)
    You can reach me at the email in the entry form.

    :)
    Thanks for the giveaway

  • Anne Taylor Aug 28, 2010, 7:23 pm

    The Green Tea All Purpose Cleaner sounds good to me! They all do actually!

    ty

    nancyrobster at gmail dot com

  • jessica Aug 28, 2010, 6:00 pm

    green tea sounds great! would love to try

  • suzquiz Aug 28, 2010, 4:32 pm

    I would like to try the Green Tea all purpose cleaner

  • Kim Aug 28, 2010, 12:21 pm

    love to try – Gloves Off Disinfectant

  • Corinne Larabie Aug 28, 2010, 12:13 pm

    We recently tried the Gloves Off products and the Mold control. They work amazingly!!! I love having the options of non-toxic products that actually do the job.

  • Pam R Aug 28, 2010, 7:54 am

    With all the laminate flooring in our house, I would love the floor cleaner to use with my microfibre mop!

  • Jennifer L. Aug 28, 2010, 6:32 am

    I would most like to try their iQ Multi-Surface Floor Cleaner.

  • Kristina Ziegler Aug 27, 2010, 8:49 pm

    I would love to try and Papaya Mango cleaner!

  • Carla Aug 27, 2010, 7:09 pm

    The green tea all purpose cleaner sounds great. I love green tea!