Gloves Off/Microbium Review & Giveaway (Closed)

I have been posting more and more about natural and environmentally-friendly products. I’m thrilled that more individuals and companies are finding safer alternatives to those every day products out there.

I recently received the opportunity to try Gloves Off and Microbium, a new line of cleaning products just out this year from Canadian company, Planet People. They are non-toxic, meaning the cleaners don’t have harsh chemicals like ammonia, chlorine and bleach. I am all for going green and using better products for my family, but I was skeptical that a non-toxic cleaner could combat the tough cleaning jobs around my house.

I received the Gloves Off Natural Action Disinfectant & Cleaner, Tough Stain Remover, Calcium, Lime & Rust Remover and the Mold Control by Concrobium to review and I can’t believe these are actually non-toxic.

From the first time I tried Gloves Off, I was really happy. I started with the Disinfectant & Cleaner to clean off my counter tops after dinner. Since I don’t have microscopic vision, I can’t tell you how much I made those bad bacteria’s on my counter top suffer, but I can tell you that this cleaner is a Health Canada registered disinfectant which means that it is proven to kill 99.9% of germs. I can also tell you that I liked the smell in my kitchen afterwards — clean! This cleaner has a suggested retail price of $5.99.

The disinfectant can also be used in places like bathrooms, near pet hang outs, on kids toys and so on so it is very versatile.

Next up is the Tough Stain Remover. I tried it out on our couch in the family room and it really did a great job at taking out the various dirt and juice stains. Baby Bird drew on the couch by accident with her crayons last night so I will be using this again tonight when I get home. This stain remover can also be used on ink, dried latex paint, grease, oil, tar, gum and pet stains. Pretty good if you ask me and at a suggested retail price of $7.99.

The Calcium, Lime & Rust Remover works the same way the other products at the store work except this product is safer. As with the others, I am literally getting the same type of cleanliness as I do with the old products I used to use and I don’t have any of the worry.

I also like that there are no overwhelming fumes when using this product. This remover is great on tubs, faucets, toilets and it works on coffee makers, cement and humidifiers and has a suggested retail price of $6.99.

Last on my review list is Mold Control by Concrobium. I hate mold, makes me gag just thinking about it. But who wants to clean up mold and replace it with chemicals. Just the same monster wearing a different suit, I say. It works the same way as the Gloves Off does, with non-toxic ingredients. Taken from their website “Unlike traditional “wet kill” products, Concrobium works as it dries – hardening over the moldy surface to form an invisible film that physically crushes the mold micro-organism underneath. And Concrobium stays on surfaces to provide continual resistance against mold regrowth.”

Mold Control is available at many stores across Canada including Canadian Tire, Home Depot and Superstore to name a few.

If you are interested in learning more about this wonderful line of products, drop by the Gloves Off website. You can read about each individual cleaner as well as check out their Material Safety Data Sheet on each one. *For Mold Control, visit their website.

As of posting this, there is also currently a coupon on Websaver.ca for $2.00 off on either the Stain Remover or Carpet Cleaner at Canadian Tire.

To get you started on your green cleaning journey, three This Bird’s Day winners will receive a Gloves Off Eco-Cleaning Prize Pack including three of their Gloves Off tough cleaners and a sample of their all natural Concrobium Mold Control ! It’s a prize pack valued at $35.

To enter:
Leave me a comment below telling me which product you would get the most use out of. Please leave a way of contacting you if you win *You must do this for any additional entries to count.

After you have completed the first entry, you can enter an additional comment one time for each of the following:

This contest is open to Canada only and runs until 12pm MST on Wednesday, June 23, 2010.

* I received the Gloves Off and Mold Control products for free to complete my review. The opinions expressed in this post are mine only and are in no way influenced by any outside factors.

Sheri Landry

Sheri publishes, and writes at This Bird’s Day where she shares all of the thoughts in her head without the voices. Sticking mainly with content for Canadians, Sheri shares family stories, product information and anything that fits into her (and her family’s) daily activities.

Found in **Fix These
33 comments… add one
  • renee Jun 22, 2010, 6:34 pm

    I would use the Disinfectant & Cleaner the most
    reneetaylor at sympatico dot ca

  • Anonymous Jun 19, 2010, 8:37 pm

    Do you have a product to remove cat pee? That's for me!

  • tpoltz Jun 19, 2010, 8:52 am

    I would get the most use out of the carpet cleaner between a baby and a sick cat sigh the carpet doesn't stand a chance.

  • Anonymous Jun 18, 2010, 5:28 pm

    The Calcium, Lime and Rust Remover appeals to me the most. You can always find these 3 culprits in your household.

    mdanieli@canada.com

  • suzie Jun 17, 2010, 12:30 pm

    I think I would use the Stains Off cleaner the most

  • pam Jun 17, 2010, 8:31 am

    I would probably get the most use out of the Concrobium Mold Control. I have been ignoring the mold around the tub…yuck for some time…

    pamfreecycle@gmail.com

  • Cheryl @ Mommy Quit Jun 17, 2010, 8:26 am

    I'd use the mold control – we seem to have a problem in the tub. As much as we clean it it just keeps coming back. Annoying the heck out of me!

  • Anonymous Jun 17, 2010, 6:29 am

    Mold control!!

    Sherry
    twinviews@hotmail.com

  • Belinda M Jun 17, 2010, 4:36 am

    I would get the most use out of the tough Stain Remover

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Debbie Jun 16, 2010, 7:03 pm

    I would get the best use out of
    Gloves Off™ Calcium, Lime & Rust Remover

    mommakoala(at)cogeco(dot)ca

  • intensev5 Jun 16, 2010, 5:00 pm

    I would use the Calcium, Lime & Rust Remover the most — my shower and toilets always have a lot of calcium build up. Thanks for the chance to win:)

  • Kerrismom Jun 16, 2010, 3:59 pm

    Natural Action Disinfectant and Cleaner would be put to use in my home

    dls dot 1957 at hotmail dot com

  • Mary Warner Jun 16, 2010, 2:42 pm

    I'd like to see if it works well. I've had mixed results with other "natural" products.

  • Cally20 Jun 16, 2010, 1:56 pm

    definitely the Mold Control!

  • corey Jun 16, 2010, 12:34 pm

    I'd probably use the Tough Stain Remover the most. It's tough to keep kids clothes nice and white so this would definately come in handy after soccer and it's my shift to do laundry.
    coreybrennan26@hotmail.com

  • andie Jun 16, 2010, 12:33 pm

    I could really use the Lime and Rust Remover. We've being trying to fix up our old bathroom without spending a tonne.
    abrennan09@hotmail.com

  • Littlemommy Jun 16, 2010, 11:15 am

    I think that the disinfectant would be great around here since we have a dog and a baby:) Nuff said;)

  • 409cope Jun 16, 2010, 11:10 am

    I would get the most use out of the Tough Stain Remover as hubby tends to spill.cardshark42(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • 3Lilacs Jun 16, 2010, 9:41 am

    I would make the most use out of the Natural Action Disinfectant & Cleaner,'

    spec@live.ca

  • Anonymous Jun 16, 2010, 9:39 am

    I would really like to try Natural Action Disinfectant and Cleaner in my bathroom and kitchen. l.a@accesscomm.ca

  • Annie1 Jun 16, 2010, 9:27 am

    fb friend

    Anne Taylor or annectaylor1

    ty

    nancyrobster@gmail.com

  • Annie1 Jun 16, 2010, 9:26 am

    Natural Action Disinfectant and Cleaner would be the one I'd like to try the most!

    ty

    nancyrobster@gmail.com

  • pansy Jun 16, 2010, 8:23 am

    The would likely use the lime and calcium the most. There is so much build up here and I refuse to use toxic cleaners so sometimes I just scrape the best I can. This win would be awesome.

  • Lisa Jun 16, 2010, 8:13 am

    I would use the Stain Remover the most – my 3 kids are pretty messy – usually in a good, dig in the garden way.

  • silverneon2000 Jun 16, 2010, 7:39 am

    I would get the most use out of Gloves Off Disinfectant & Cleaner. Great for cleaning up in the kitchen.

    silverneon2000 at yahoo dot com

  • Anonymous Jun 16, 2010, 5:42 am

    I'd get the most use out of the Natural Action Disinfectant & Cleaner!

    plur268 at yahoo dot com

  • Salad For Breakfast Jun 15, 2010, 11:29 pm

    I need that Mold Control! I found some mold under my kitchen sink and what a pain it was to clean it up. :(

    saladforbreakfast AT gmail DOT com

  • shannon Jun 15, 2010, 9:26 pm

    i woud get the most use out of the Concrobium Mold Control – i have mold in my shower that just keeps coming back!

  • Glogirl Jun 15, 2010, 7:51 pm

    I would get the most use out of the The Calcium, Lime & Rust Remover because we have hard water that leaves stains in the sinks, tub, and toilets.

    (E-mail is in profile)

  • Pam Jun 15, 2010, 6:39 pm

    I would get the most use out of the tough stain remover as my little kiddies with their markers, dirty hands, etc. keep leaving marks all over the furniture!

    melacan at hotmail dot com

  • Andy & Ginny Jun 15, 2010, 5:28 pm

    Hi;
    This was a great new product intro for gloves off.
    I will try some at our home first and then at our clients locations
    Thanks

  • Anonymous Jun 15, 2010, 5:14 pm

    I would use the tough stain remover for my counter tops and other places where it's hard to remove stains.

    billiondollarprincesss@hotmail.com

  • Anonymous Jun 15, 2010, 4:58 pm

    I would get the most use out of the carpet care cleaner as i have 2 young kids and a dog. My carpets are brutal.

    vivaglampink@yahoo.ca

Leave a Comment